National Council on Disability: 20 Years of Independence (July 2004)

Skip to Page Content

Lex Frieden, Chairperson
July 26, 2004

This report is also available in alternative formats and on NCD's award-winning Web site (/).

The views contained in the report do not necessarily represent those of the administration, as this and all NCD reports are not subject to the A-19 executive branch review process.

National Council on Disability Members and Staff

Lex Frieden, Chairperson, Texas
Patricia Pound, First Vice Chairperson, Texas
Glenn Anderson, Ph.D., Second Vice Chairperson, Arkansas

Milton Aponte, J.D., Florida
Robert R. Davila, Ph.D., New York
Barbara Gillcrist, New Mexico
Graham Hill, Virginia
Joel I. Kahn, Ph.D., Ohio
Young Woo Kang, Ph.D., Indiana
Kathleen Martinez, California
Carol Novak, Florida
Anne M. Rader, New York
Marco Rodriguez, California
David Wenzel, Pennsylvania
Linda Wetters, Ohio

Ethel D. Briggs, Executive Director

Jeffrey T. Rosen, General Counsel and Director of Policy
Mark S. Quigley, Director of Communications
Martin Gould, Ed.D., Senior Research Specialist
Allan W. Holland, Chief Financial Officer
Julie Carroll, Attorney Advisor
Geraldine Drake Hawkins, Ph.D., Program Analyst
Joan M. Durocher, Attorney Advisor
Pamela O'Leary, Interpreter
Brenda Bratton, Executive Assistant
Stacey S. Brown, Staff Assistant
Carla Nelson, Office Automation Clerk


This report is dedicated to Americans with disabilities and their families, who contribute to their communities and the nation.


The National Council on Disability would like to thank Professor Robert L. Burgdorf Jr. of the David A. Clarke School of Law at the University of the District of Columbia for his assistance in drafting this report.

NCD would also like to thank NCD Chairperson Lex Frieden and former Chairpersons Joe Dusenbury, Sandra Swift Parrino, and Marca Bristo for their input.